Skip to content
Bradshaw’s Guide

Ballybrophy to Limerick

The Roscrea and Parsonstown, a line 22½ miles long turns off here to the right. On arriving at the town of Roscrea it divides into two branches, the shorter one, to the north-west, to Parsonstown, the present terminus in that direction; and the other, south-west, through Cloughjordan, to the large town of

Nenagh, in the northern part of the county of Tipperary. The country around is well cultivated, and the trade of the town considerable. Proceeding in a south-westerly direction we sweep the base of the Arra Mountains on the south-east margin of Lough Derg, to

County Tipperary : Birdhill

A little to the north of this, on the other side Lough Derg, is Killaloe, with its cathedral and old churches, and one mile further north, on the margin of the lake, is Kincora, the ancient seat of Brian Boru.

Leaving Birdhill we pass the stations of Castleconnel and Killonan to

County Limerick : Limerick

This old seat of the O’Briens, now the capital of Limerick county, a parliamentary borough and a thriving port, has a population of about 67,000, lies in a flat part of Munster 50 miles from the mouth of the Shannon.

Spotted a mistake? Suggest a correction on GitHub.