Skip to content
Bradshaw’s Guide

Newport to Blaenavon, Rhymney, Sirhowy, Blaina and Ebbw Vale

Monmouthshire Line

The Eastern and Western Lines turn off at this point to the right, passing through districts rich in mineral products, but not of essential importance to the general tourist. The first station on the Western Line is Bassalleg Junction; and here the Rhymney and Newport section of the Brecon Line branches off to the left, skirting the boundary of the country, passing the Stations of Rhiwderin, Church Road, Machen, Bedwas, and Maesycwmmer, to Pengam, and from thence to Bargoed, New Tredegar, and Rhymney.

Passing along the Western Valley Line, from Bassaleg and Tydee, we arrive at Risca, the point of deviation of the Sirhowy Railway, a line about fifteen miles long, traversing the valley of that name, rich in mineral products. Its course lies via Tredeger Junction. Blackwood, Argoed, and Tredegar, the seat of some very extensive iron works, to Sirhowy.

Again on the Western Valley Line, we pass on to Cross Keys, Chapel Bridge, Abercarne, Newbridge, Crumlin, Llanhilleth, Aberbeeg, Cwm, Victoria, Ebbw Vale, Abertillery, and Blaina.

Those on the Eastern Branch, Llantarnam, Cwmbran, Pontnewydd, Pontrhydyrun, Pontypool, Pontnewynnydd, Abersychan, Cwm Avon and Blaenavon.

Spotted a mistake? Suggest a correction on GitHub.